• Pre-order Michael Romeo's new album from the MLG store!
  • Click to pre-order The Apocalypse Blues Revue from the MLG store
  • Buy the new 10 Years album!
  • Buy the new Black Stone Cherry album now!
  • Buy Beth Hart - Live Front and Center
  • Click to get the new Shaman's Harvest album!
  • Click to order the new Walter Trout album
  • Buy the new Lance Lopez album!
  • Relive the Ayreon Universe live show!
< >
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Vandenberg's MoonKings Announce New Record MKII - Due November 3 << ALL NEWS 

Four years after Adrian Vandenberg made a spectacular comeback with Vandenberg’s Moonkings, the band returns with a sophomore album, simply titled MK II. The album has the same qualities of the debut ... a perfect mix of vintage seventies hard rock and current styles of heavy rock. Adrian Vandenberg, once again, shines as a bonafide guitar virtuoso, while the rest of the band also delivers in spades. 

The band has really come together as a group through touring the world over the last few years, and that closeness really comes through on MKII.  "The last few years have been very important indeed’, confirms Adrian Vandenberg, who previously gained world fame as the guitarist and songwriter of Vandenberg and Whitesnake. ‘We just got to know each other when we recorded out debut album. I think we all exceeded each other’s expectations. But you really get to know each other while on the road. It was then that I really became impressed by the abundance of energy that this band has. We tried to capture this on our new album. At the same time, we all grew individually. I am really amazed by the way Jan Hoving has grown even more in his role as a singer and as a front man. I’ve played with the best bass players and drummers in my extensive career, but with all respect I dare to say that Sem Christoffel and drummer Mart Nijen Es form the best rhythm section I ever had the pleasure of working with.

Partly recorded in the famous Wisseloord Studio in Hilversum, Holland, where the band recorded their debut album, with the same studio team: producer Adrian Vandenberg, engineer/ soundmixer Ronald Prent, and mastered by Darcy Proper.

‘The fantastic response to our debut received also gave us a major boost. We felt confident to loosen things up quite a bit. Sem and Mart really go for it of at the end of The Fire. Previously I would have called for a fade-out in the mix, but this time we decided to keep it and put it on the record. It somehow reminded me of the '70's Cream and Led Zeppelin jam sessions that nobody seems to do anymore these days. I allowed myself to rip all over the end section of If You Can’t Handle The Heat. I’ve always found that as a guitar player you should be able to tell a story in about twenty seconds, so this time it was great to break this rule for a change and let myself go completely. Never before in my career I have done this on an album. All in all, working on this album was a wonderful experience. The notorious ‘second album syndrome’ never reared its ugly head.’

MKII is now available for pre-order on CD and Vinyl.  All CD and vinyl pre-orders through the MLG Store will be signed by Mr. Vanderberg, and while supplies last, include a free poster! PRE-ORDER YOU COPY HERE from the MLG Store.

If you prefer, you can also pre-order from Amazon.com 

Posted on 09/05/2017 << ALL NEWS 

Search News

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter